Who are we?

A Community Born in the Wake of Vatican II

The Community of the Beatitudes is a contemplative and missionary community begun in France in 1973 of  the Catholic Charismatic Renewal following the Vatican II Council. It was founded by two couples who experienced an outpouring of the Holy Spirit and an intimacy with God, Gérard Croissant (Ephraïm) and his wife Jo, and Jean-Marc and Mireille Hammel.They felt a strong urge to live in community according to the Gospel as the first Christians did, as was described in the Acts of the Apostles.

The Community started to grow in Cordes sur Ciel (1981), and Cardinal Robert Coffy recognized it as a  “pious union”. In 2002, the Pontifical Council for the Laity recognized the Community as a “Private International Association of the  Faithful.” After many stages of development, this association was dissolved in 2011. On June 29, 2011, the Archbishop of Toulouse, Archbishop Robert Le Gall, set up a new Public Association of the Faithful under diocesan law, with the view of creating an Ecclesial Family of Consecrated Life under the authority of the Roman Congregation for Institutes of Consecrated Life.

An image of the People of God called to holiness

The Community, as an image of the people of God living in unity and diversity, gathers together consecrated sisters and brothers, some of whom are priests, and lay members, single or married. Some of these are permanent deacons or have chosen to remain single for the Kingdom, having pronounced a vow of celibacy. All share the same initial calling.

As of 2019, the Community comprises 763 members: 177 brothers (of which 87 are priests), 270 sisters, 316 lay members (of which 13 are permanent deacons and  51 who have chosen celibacy for the Kingdom). Over forty trainees are in a year of discernment and formation in our houses, with a view of entering the Community.

For further information…

Connected to the Community are allies such as the Disciples of the Lamb or Friends of the Lamb who form the Beatitudes Family.

For further information…

The Community has founded  50 houses in 28 countries worldwide, in Europe, Africa, Asia, North and South America, the South Sea Islands, and the Middle East.




Governance structure of the Community

The Community of the Beatitudes is composed of :

  • a branch of consecrated brothers of which some are deacons and priests under the authority of a General Responsible, who is always a priest ;
  • a branch of consecrated sisters under the responsibility of a General Responsible ;
  • and a branch of lay members, married or single, with its own statutes, under the supervision of a General Moderator.

The Community is governed by a President (man or woman) elected from among its consecrated members by a General Assembly, whose delegates are elected by all the members of the Community. The President is helped in his or her work by a General Council  comprised of the Branch Responsibles  and their assistants, working in collegiality and seeking together the will of God. The President exercises his or her authority mindfully respecting the autonomy of each branch.


The Community’s General Assembly, meeting in October 2019, has re-elected  Sr. Anna Katharina Pollmeyer for four years as the Community’s President. 
She elected Father  Jean-Uriel Frey,  as General Responsible  for the brothers’ branch,  Sr. Eva of Jesus Schwingenschlögel, General Responsible for the sisters’ branch, and re-elected Anne-Emmanuelle Dixmérias, General Moderator for the lay branch. They all chose an assistant.

The Community is also accompanied by Brother Henry Donneaud, O.P., Apostolic Assistant nominated by the Roman Congregation for the Institutes of Consecrated Life Regation.


We were unable to confirm your registration.
Your registration is confirmed.

“Votre don sera reçu par la Fondation pour le Clergé, en faveur de la Communauté des Béatitudes et les données recueillies sur le formulaire de don serviront aux communications de la Communauté des Béatitudes et de la Fondation pour le Clergé.”

I've read Know more